The state of Wyoming does not require a state license or permit to perform tattoos or operate a tattoo shop. Currently, Laramie County is the only county with regulations in place. The information below is for Laramie County only.
It costs $125 to get a Body Artist Permit in Laramie County.
Permits must be renewed one year from the date of issue. It costs $65 to renew your Body Artist Permit.
In Wyoming law, you might find tattooing and body piercing referred to as “physical body adornment.”
To get a body artist permit in Laramie County, you must submit:
In Laramie County, the owner of the tattoo shop where you will be employed must sign and date a section on page 2 of your application confirming you will work there.
You must submit a copy of your certificate from any OSHA compliant Blood Borne Pathogen Training
Hepatitis B Vaccination Record
You must submit a copy of your Hepatitis B vaccination record, or a signed and dated letter stating that you’re declining the vaccination and are free of communicable disease (page 2 of application)
Your Driver’s License
You must submit a copy of your current motor vehicle driver’s license. (If you do not have a driver’s license, you may be able to use a valid United States passport or a federal Selective Service Act registration card. Check with your local health department for their policy on this.)
Payment - card, cash, or check made out to Environmental Health ($125 for first-time or $65 for renewal)
Turn in Your Application
You may submit the above documents and fee in person or by mail to:
DIVISION OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH
100 CENTRAL AVE
CHEYENNE, WY 82007
Once your application is accepted and fee is paid, you will receive your permit by mail.
If your county has additional regulations, you can find them here.
You can find requirements for Laramie county tattoo shops and tattoo artists here.
Things You Should Know:
In Wyoming, tattoos may only be performed on minors if the person’s parent/legal guardian consents. The parent also must be present at the time of the tattoo.
Tattoo license regulation info: https://www.powelltribune.com/stories/wyoming-should-regulate-growing-tattoo-industry,5021
Tattoo license form: https://www.laramiecountywy.gov/_departments/health/body_art.aspx
Infectious diseases / communicable diseases education by state: https://courseforbbp.com/states
Prepare for a Tattooing Career with the Artist Accelerator Program
Learning the steps you need to take to get licensed is an important step in your journey, but it can also be pretty eye-opening to how difficult tattooing can be. Without the right knowledge, it’s impossible to level up your skills and become a professional tattoo artist.
However, finding the straight-forward information you need to progress is difficult. And with so much out there online, it’s hard to avoid picking up bad habits from incorrect and outdated resources.
This is one of the biggest struggles new tattooers face, and too many talented artists have given up their goal of getting into tattooing because of the years it would take to unlearn their bad habits.
That’s why aspiring artists are learning to tattoo with the Artist Accelerator Program’s structured course. As a student, you learn every step of the tattooing process from professional artists with the experience and advice you need to build your skills and create incredible tattoos.
With the Artist Accelerator, you can stop wasting time searching through incorrect information. You just get the clear, easy-to-understand lessons you need to start improving fast… along with support and personalized feedback from professional artists in our online Mastermind group.
Over 2500 students have already gone through the course, with many of them opening up their own studios. If you want to join them and learn the skills you need to start tattooing full time faster…
Click here to learn more about the Artist Accelerator Program.