The New York State Department is currently working on a statewide permit/license program, but for now you must follow local regulations. This guide will outline the requirements in New York City. For other areas, contact your local health department.
Certificates of Registration expire yearly on May 31st. The cost of renewing your Certificate of Registration is $150.
Fees should be paid to the Mississippi Department of Health by certified check, cashier’s check, or money order.
Tattoo artists in Mississippi must have a Provisional Certificate of Registration (an apprentice-level license) and work under the direct supervision of someone with a Regular Certificate of Registration for at least 9 months before applying for a Regular Certificate of Registration from the Department of Public Health.
A copy of your driver's license or social security card
Application fee - $150
Proof that you have successfully completed any OSHA Bloodborne Pathogens training course - this training verifies that you have proper training in preventing disease transmission (like hepatitis B) and are certified in first aid from the American Red Cross
- A copy of your driver's license or social security card
- Application fee - $150
- Proof that you have successfully completed any OSHA Bloodborne Pathogens training course - this training verifies that you have proper training in preventing disease transmission (like hepatitis B) and are certified in first aid from the American Red Cross
Submit a copy of your driver's license or social security card
Pay the non refundable application fee - $150
- Submit a copy of your driver's license or social security card
- Pay the non refundable application fee - $150
If an artist wants to transfer their license from another state to become licensed in Mississippi, they must complete the steps listed above for the Regular Certificate of Registration, as well as the Verification of License/Registration form (page 5 here).
No Provisional Certificate of Registration is needed first for a person who has held a valid license/registration in another state within the last 18 months.
Turn in Your Application
Mail application and fee to:
Mississippi State Department of Health
Professional Licensure - Tattoo & Body Piercing
Post Office Box 1700
Jackson, MS 39215
Once you have submitted your tattoo artist license application according to the regulations above, completed the proper tattoo artist training, (and paid the appropriate fees), the Department of Health will schedule a health and safety site inspection of your tattoo and body art facilities in Mississippi.
Once that is complete, you will receive licensing for your business. This will need to be renewed on a regular basis.
Things You Should Know:
It is a misdemeanor to tattoo a person under the age of 18 in Mississippi, regardless of parental consent. The penalty for tattooing a person who is underage varies depending on the frequency and severity of the violation but generally is punishable by the revocation of a license or other criminal prosecutions.
You can contact the state department of health for more information or view the list of site options below for more information on tattoo licensing and training course availability in Mississippi.
Prepare for a Tattooing Career with the Artist Accelerator Program
Learning the steps you need to take to get licensed is an important step in your journey, but it can also be pretty eye-opening to how difficult tattooing can be. Without the right knowledge, it’s impossible to level up your skills and become a professional tattoo artist.
However, finding the straight-forward information you need to progress is difficult. And with so much out there online, it’s hard to avoid picking up bad habits from incorrect and outdated resources.
This is one of the biggest struggles new tattooers face, and too many talented artists have given up their goal of getting into tattooing because of the years it would take to unlearn their bad habits.
That’s why aspiring artists are learning to tattoo with the Artist Accelerator Program’s structured course. As a student, you learn every step of the tattooing process from professional artists with the experience and advice you need to build your skills and create incredible tattoos.
With the Artist Accelerator, you can stop wasting time searching through incorrect information. You just get the clear, easy-to-understand lessons you need to start improving fast… along with support and personalized feedback from professional artists in our online Mastermind group.
Over 2500 students have already gone through the course, with many of them opening up their own studios. If you want to join them and learn the skills you need to start tattooing full time faster…